Letter to Harrison Fencers

Hello!

I hope that you are doing well, and that the start of the new school year has been smooth for you. We are a little over a month away from the start of a new fencing season, and I just wanted to keep you informed on what’s in store.

My plans are to start sometime in the first or second week of October, and to kick everything off with a parent-student informational meeting. We have several high school teams interested in competing with us at dual meets or tournaments, so if you are interested in interscholastic fencing, things are about to get really exciting! Additionally I will be introducing an achievement level system where fencers can earn stripes, chevrons or badges for each skill level they complete. I will explain this system at the introductory meeting I hope to have in October.

I have been looking forward to this new season all summer long and have been making plans to make the 2013-2014 fencing season even better than last year. In order to have a club at Harrison this year, however, we have one obstacle to overcome: finding a teacher willing to sponsor the club.

Several of our teammates have asked a few teachers already to sponsor the club, but so far we have not had a commitment from anyone yet. Ideally we would be fundraising now, selling cinnamon rolls (and hopefully not eating too many of them!), accumulating vital funds for tournament expenses and transportation. So until we are able to find a sponsor, we are unable to officially work as a club and as a team.

If you are interested in having a fencing club at Harrison this year, I would strongly encourage you to contact your teammates and figure out which teachers to approach about being the club sponsor for this year and then start talking to each of them. I know that you are all capable of many things; I’ve seen this for myself working with each of you. Now is the time to act! Work together by whatever means you can: phone, face-to-face conversations, email, social media, etc. If you need any help from me, just let me know. I’m ready to jump in at any time!

All the best,
Coach Schafer

Leave a Reply

